Exoplanet Observed from the River Ridge Observatory

On the night of October 18/19, 2017 Dr. Jeff Robertson of Arkansas Tech University, and a member of the Central Arkansas Astronomical Society, used the River Ridge Observatory Robotic Research Telescope (RRORRT) to observe a transit of an exoplanet 456 light years away.

WASP-52 is a dwarf star about 83% the mass of the Sun in the constellation of Pegasus. In 2011, a planet was observed passing in front of the star. This planet, designated WASP-52 b, is a so-called “hot Jupiter” due to its size and proximity to its star.  Dr. Robertson pointed the 12” RRORRT at WASP-52 during a predicted transit and was able to take measurements of the light that reached it over the course of the event.

To summarize, using a commercially available off the shelf telescope and camera within reach of many amateur astronomers, a computer and free software, Dr. Robertson has demonstrated just how much a skilled observer can accomplish even in Arkansas.

For more information about the RRORRT, drop us a line.

Saturday November 18 – Public Night and Regular Monthly Meeting at 6 PM

CAAS Monthly Meeting banner

Everyone, members and non-members, please join us at 6 PM for our regular monthly meeting, 5 PM if you are going to join us for the Supper Bowl.

Presentations will include: “Billions and Billions” by Perry Norwood and “Are We Alone in the Universe” by Jeff Robertson.

As always, meetings of the Central Arkansas Astronomical Society are open to the public.

Supper Bowl price will be $6 each.

SupperBowl RSVP Button